Prayer – Conclusion…

Thanks Shayne…

Good morning Roy,

I came across a passage this morning that the Lord put on my heart to share.  I know you’ve been discussing prayer…here are some thoughts by R.C. Sproul:

“The Lord God of the universe, the Creator and Sustainer of all things,…not only commands us to pray, but also invites us to make our requests known.  Jesus says that we have not because  we ask not.  James tells us that the effectual, fervent prayer of a righteous man accomplishes much.  Time and again the Bible says that prayer is an effective tool.  It is useful; it works…
Prayer, like everything else in the Christian life, is for God’s glory and for our benefit, in that order.  Everything that God does, everything that God allows and ordains, is in the supreme sense for His glory.  It is also true that while God seeks His own glory supremely, man benefits when God is glorified.  We pray to glorify God, but also to receive the benefits of prayer from His hand….
One of the great themes of the Reformation was the idea that all of our life is to be lived under the authority of God, to the glory of God, in the presence of God…Prayer is discourse with the personal God Himself.  There, in the act and dynamic of praying, I bring my whole life under His gaze.  Yes, He knows what is in my mind, but I still have the privilege of articulating to Him what is there.  He says, “Come.  Speak to Me.  Make your requests known to Me.”  And so, we come in order to know Him and to be known by Him.”

Admittedly, I’m not sure I’m much closer to any certainty in my quest.  But here is what I do know:

  • – We serve a big God – bigger than we can comprehend.
  • – Our God loves you and me with a love unlike our feeble attempts to love in return.
  • – Perhaps I will never know the mysteries of this thing called prayer.  And I must get to a place where that is ok.
  • – Just as many of you have written me to tell me that you believe with all of your heart that your prayer can change God, as those of you who say He wouldn’t be God if our prayers could change Him.
  • – With all of my heart I am going to pray in a way that sincerely believes that my fervent “ask” could change Him.  And at the same time attempt to live in the possibility that they can’t.

The things of God – wrestle, struggle, question, press in, ask, listen, pray, discern, accept, live, and and then love with all I ‘got’.

Leave a Reply

