“But That’s Not on the Schedule Today!”

She pushed her way through the entering crowd.

I knew by the look in her eyes that something was up.  Leaving her Guest Services booth to find me usually means we have a crisis and she needs an answer – NOW.  And she knows how much I love the rush.

“We have a young couple that wants to be baptized TODAY.  They are leaving the country tomorrow and they both have asked to be baptized now.” The dumb-founded look on my face made her smile – she takes too much joy in doing this to me.

Being a first born – I check my morning Order of Service…nope…no baptism… not there.  In my head I quickly run though what it takes to pull something like this off.  Again, I think “We are waaaay too busy with church this morning to accommodate a request like that.”  Praise God that thought originated and terminated in my head alone.

Our church has a beautiful outdoor baptism pool.  That’s a blessings and a curse – outdoor uncovered water in Florida needs prep and daily attention – neither of which occurred up to this moment of the morning.

But with a few cell calls to the team – the water was ready, one of our pastors changed quickly into one of our black on black, one size fits all, shorts and shirt set, and the the three of them were in the water.

As I stood on the side, holding the towels, I was lovingly corrected by the Holy Spirit.  My propensity for “the schedule” nearly derailed a God moment.  Why are we so married to routine that we sometimes miss the sweet tender movements of our Creator?

Got a busy day today?  God is going to do something big today – I hope you have time to be a part of it.

4 responses to this post.

  1. ok.
    i have a lump in my throat.
    wow— good stuff!

  2. Posted by Bernilda on September 16, 2008 at 12:44 PM

    Praise God for the work that he continues to do in us and through us.

  3. Posted by barbara salanitro on September 17, 2008 at 1:45 PM

    Thank God you followed the leading of the holy spirit. What a beautiful example of His love. Also the cardboard testimony was great.

  4. Isn’t it awesome that the most powerful of moments are those that ‘we do not plan’ but rather are those that God had planned all along. Letting go of control…. Letting God work…….. and being joyous in the moments where his blessings pour down. This is how I desire to live, though in my humanness, it seems easier to control and schedule- it is how church is often done. How awesome it would be to eliminate schedules and fully surrendor to the guidance of the Spirit allowing God to truly work.

Leave a Reply

