The 4 Major Elements to Hearing God’s Voice

The word of the day is = paga.

As I continue my real time quest of learning how to more effectively hear the voice of my Creator, I wanted to share with you some direct quotes from one of my mentors, Jose Barreda.  He is teaching me about the 4 Elements to hearing the voice of God.  Today I will be thinking through #1:

1st Element – God’s voice is Spiritual.

When His Spirit speaks in our hearts His voice sounds like a flow of spontaneous thoughts. When we want to listen to the Lord it is an impulse in our Spirit man that comes in tune with our mind.

The Bible says that ‘the Lord answered me and said….’ (Habakkuk 2:2). Habakkuk knew the impulse of God’s voice. Elijah described it as a still, small voice.

I had always listened for an inner audible voice, and surely God can and does speak that way at times.  However, we have found most of the time God’s inner voice comes to us as theatrical pictures in our thoughts, visions, feelings, or impressions. For example, haven’t each of us had the experience of driving down the road and having a thought come to us to pray for a certain person? We generally acknowledge this to be the voice of God calling us to pray for that individual. My question to you is, “What did God’s voice sound like as you drove in your car? Was it an inner, audible voice, or was it a spontaneous thought that lit upon your mind?” Most of you would say that God’s voice came to you as a impulsive thought. (Note:  Satan uses compulsiveness!)

In the last 14 years of ministry we have seen that this was the way He would speak.  God has always wanted all to hear His voice.   When we listen for God’s voice, we should be listening for a flow of spontaneous thoughts. When He speaks to our spirit our spirit gives our mind spontaneous thoughts, impressions, feelings, and visions and dreams.

M. Virkler’s and other mentor’s teaching shares an important insight:
The Bible confirms this in many ways. The definition of paga, the Hebrew word for intercession, is “a chance encounter or an accidental intersecting.” When God lays people on our hearts for intercession, He does it through paga, a chance encounter thought, accidentally intersecting our thought processes. Therefore, when I tune to God, I tune to chance encounter thoughts or spontaneous thoughts. When I am poised quietly before God in prayer, I have found that the flow of spontaneous thoughts that comes is quite definitely from God.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marylou Wolf on August 6, 2008 at 11:43 PM

    So much insight on this Roy….This blog really touched me and I completley agree with you and applaud you for blogging on this and encourage you to continue on…..Wonderful Bible Study Group, hum…….GBU Lou

  2. I love to read your teaching hearing god s voice I bless thankyou

Leave a Reply

