Hearing God’s Voice – Element 2 – Pure Flow

The absolute most difficult discipline for me.  But it is here, in this very moment, that I sometimes experience a brief yet incredibly tender face time with my Creator.

2nd Element – We must learn to still my own thoughts and emotions, so that I can sense God’s flow of thoughts and emotions within me.
Habakkuk said, “I will stand on my guard post and station myself on the rampart…” (Habakkuk 2:1). Habakkuk knew that in order to hear God’s quiet, inner, spontaneous thoughts, he had to first go to a quiet place and still his own thoughts and emotions. Psalm 46:10 encourages us to “be still, and know that He is God.” There is a deep inner knowing (instantaneous flow) in our spirit that each of us can experience when we quiet our flesh and our minds.
I have found several simple ways to quiet myself so that I can more readily pick up God’s prompting and flow. It is important that we surrender to the desire in my heart to enjoy my Father and His Presence.  Just loving God through a quiet worship song is a most effective means for me (note II Kings 3:15). It is as I become still (thoughts, will, and emotions) and am poised before God that the divine flow is realized. Therefore, after I worship quietly and then become still I close all avenues of noise into my life, I open myself for that spontaneous flow. If thoughts come to me of things I have forgotten to do, I write them down and then dismiss them. If thoughts of guilt or unworthiness come to my mind, I C.R.Y. out thoroughly, knowing the He has washed me by the blood of the Lamb, and recognize that in Him I have His robe of righteousness, seeing myself spotless before the presence of God.
As I visualize my presence with Jesus (Heb. 12:2), becoming quiet in His presence, and sharing with Him what is on my heart, I find that two-way dialogue begins to flow. Spontaneous thoughts flow from the throne of God to me, and I find that I am actually chatting with the my Father!

It is very important that we become still and properly focused if you are going to receive the total expression from His voice. If you are not still, you will simply be receiving your own thoughts. If you are not properly focused on Jesus, you will receive an impure flow, because the intuitive flow comes out of that upon which you have fixed your eyes. Therefore, if you fix your eyes upon Jesus, the intuitive flow comes from Jesus. If you fix your gaze upon some desire of your heart, the intuitive flow comes out of that desire of your heart.

To have a pure flow you must first of all become still, and secondly, you must carefully fix your eyes upon Jesus. Again I will say, this is quite easily accomplished by quietly worshiping the King, and then receiving out of the stillness that follows.

Leave a Reply

