Top 10 Battle Cries of a Dad Trapped in a Slumber Party Marathon

Maybe it’s the supercharged pool of estrogen I’m swimming in for 16 straight days…maybe.

Mom and oldest daughter are out of the country on a mission trip.  So it’s just me and my 3 princesses.  Over our first dinner together, I innocently (and foolishly) asked them “What’s the longest slumber party you’ve had”.  I was thinking in terms of hours – they were thinking days.  Somehow this simple question has turned into the “Super Summer Slumber Party Marathon of 08”.

Different friends and varying numbers but 6 days in and the slumber party streak is still alive.  I know, I know, crazy.  But we are making some fun and silly memories.  Guess that’s why I was drawn to an article I just read in Wired Magazine:

10 Best Battle Cries (with a slight adaptation):

1 – “This is where we fight! This is where they die!” – King Leonidas, in movie 300

(have yet to venture into their rooms – sure it’s where someone would die)

2 – “Come on you sons of b______, do you want to live forever?” – Starship Troopers

(I have all daughters, not sure this one applies)

3 – “By the power of Greyskull…I have the power” – He-Man

(by the power of being the only male in the household, they let me think I have the power)

4 – “Over? Did you say over? Nothing is over till we decide it is! Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell no!” – Bluto in movie Animal House

5 – “From my cold, dead hands!” – Charleston Heston to NRA conference

(comment made last night when the gang of girls tried to commandeer my TV remote and leave Sports Center for Project Runway….ummmm….no)

6 – “Tulta Munille”  – From the novel The Unknown Soldier

7 – “Carthago Delenda Est! (Carthage must be destroyed!) – Cato the Elder

8 – “Leeeeeeroy Jennnnnkins!” – World of Warcraft

9 – “I am the Love Angel, I am the Wedding Peach, and I am very angry with you!” – The Wedding Peach

(…a pushover no more?)

10 – “Today is a good day to die!” – Klingons

(one day this week – when I make it into their rooms for an inspection)

…party on!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lindsayjean on July 30, 2008 at 1:52 PM

    Sir, I can assure you even I would not venture into an on-going slumber party. You’re a saint…

    🙂

  2. Posted by suzpatrick on July 30, 2008 at 4:27 PM

    i am sooo packing my hotrollers- aqua net- and big hair brush as i type… i’ll be right over.

    and i may give YOU big hair first.

  3. You missed one….do you feel lucky punk? Well, do you?

Leave a Reply

