Wondering if She Got it…

Jeanne and my oldest princess, 16 year old Mackenzie, are in Uganda Africa for 17 days. They are with an organization called Watoto.  Their mission was to build a home for an orphanage. The group returns home Saturday.  My contact with them has been limited to texts.

I don’t understand the relational dynamics between a mom and a teenage daughter.  But it’s unique.  I was warned about it by many fathers that have gone before me.  What the warning failed to prepare me for was the multiplication of this phenomenon times 4.

So when the two of them expressed an interest to go together – I had to somehow make it happen.  One of my prayers for the past six months is that through serving our Creator, He knit them even closer together.

New Flash – teenagers are selfish.

It’s hard to have the world revolve around you when you are sent half way around it, to a 3rd world country, to sever others.  My prayer for Mackenzie (and my other 3 girls) has been that she falls completely in love with Jesus, and through that love – lives to serve others.

I’m sure that it will take much time for her to “unpack” the impact of this trip.  I may not know for years if the prayers of my heart were answered.

But just yesterday I received a picture that I will forever cherish.  When I look into her tired young eyes, I think that maybe…just maybe they were:

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Amy on August 6, 2008 at 10:07 AM

    What a great picture. The whole mom and teenage daughter thing hits home with me and have years to go before I get there. Whew! Hope your prayers are answered.

  2. Hi Amy,

    I really miss you and Scott!

    Thanks for the hope! The mother/daughter thing is real…almost tangible. Can’t explain it – part of life I guess. But now, looking back, it’s beautiful in only a way God could orchestrate.

    When it’s time, have Scott call me….

  3. *smiles*

  4. Posted by Gill Padilla on August 6, 2008 at 1:53 PM

    Way to go…Good experience for her….

    Been too long to stay out of touch Roy….

    Glad to see things go well for you and Suzanne….

    Laters…

  5. Posted by DavidG on August 6, 2008 at 3:06 PM

    God shows us his love every day and only asks that we do the same with others. Looks like mission accomplished by all. May their experience continue to draw them closer to the Lord. My prayers and thoughts are with them all as I ask traveling mercies upon them and a safe return.

  6. Posted by Gwen Darrey on August 15, 2008 at 11:04 AM

    Okay, this one makes me cry!
    And rejoice with you, AMEN!!

Leave a Reply

