Daddy, Can We…?

One of the blessings of playing Mr. Mom for 17 straight days is the connection opportunity I get with my girls.

Admittedly, I often feel like I don’t do such a great job with this “dad” title.  Looking back, as they are all speeding towards their day of launch, I see so many missed opportunities.  Being a dad is hard.  Being a dad connected and engaged in the lives of our kids is harder.  Being a dad of all girls is…..the most amazing blessing that God could have gifted me with.

So when mom is gone – I get very intentional about connecting.  Why Lord do I not do the same all of the time?

Anyway, I had 4 daddy goals over the past few weeks – love, connect, make memories and don’t lose a kid.  Don’t tell mom, but we have had a 13 day continuous slumber party – every night different friends joined our non stop party.  While the other moms though I was crazy, and Jeanne is sure to roll her eyes – we have had a blast!  Every night we’ve done something crazy – like:

  • root beer float eating contests – 3 was the record before something gross happened.
  • midnight pranks on some anonymous boy’s house – dressed in black and lots of shhhhhhhs.
  • late night pool parties – who knew 6 teen girls could be so loud?
  • and a trip to the nail place for manicures and pedicures – my nails have never looked better.

Growing Kids God’s way taught me a principle years ago – find a way to say “yes”.  Couple that with a Father’s Heart and a softy for a dad and the past 2 weeks have been crazy fun!  But as I look back this morning, through the mess of the kitchen, piles of dirty laundry, and remnants of the root beer float eating contest gone bad, I’m smiling inside.

I’ve got such a long way to go to be the daddy that God has called me to be.  Today starts a new day and these princesses have new needs that God designed me as their dad to fulfill.  I feel incapable.  I feel unworthy.  I feel like holding them tight and not letting go.  But it is right here, at this very moment of my life, that I sense God telling me – “It’s OK, these princesses are mine…you do the best you can as their daddy and I’ll help you, and then I’ll take it from there.”

3 responses to this post.

  1. ok.
    this one made me cry a little.
    and while wiping my eyes and seeing my hands, it also made me realize i need a nail appt too.
    good stuff roy boy.
    well.
    except for the root beer float contest gone wrong.

  2. wait.
    i forgot to ask.
    which hand is yours above?

  3. Posted by Scott on August 7, 2008 at 3:43 PM

    Thanks for the inspiration! As I like to say… This moment only lasts for this very moment and when this moment is gone, a new moment arrives so take advantage of the moment before the moment passes you by!

Leave a Reply

