“Beauty from Ashes” or “What about the Naked Ladies?”

He serves with me on our parking lot team at church.

A prodigal….

Loves God with all of his heart.

Has a past like all of us do.

Early in his wandering he decided to get “inked”.

Not just one tattoo, but a body full of colorful designs.

Most of the tats are benign, a few are not….like his 2 naked girls.

He asked me, “Can I serve God with what I’ve done to my body?”

“Yes you a can my friend…we all can.” I told him.

“What about the naked girls?”

“Umm…how do you feel about wearing a long sleeve shirt?” (while working in the parking lot during the dog days of a Florida summer).

And for the past 3 months my friend has been faithfully serving (fully sleeved) our church family in the Parking ministry.

A few weeks ago he came up to me and said “I want to show you something…no more need for long sleeves! I bought my girls a present!”  He had two new tattoos – his naked girls were now sporting 2 bright red  bikinis.

My friend just returned from his first mission trip where he helped build orphanages in Uganda Africa.  God uses the broken things in our lives for His glory.  All He asks is for our obedience.  My friend had a chance to connect with the people in Uganda in ways no one else could.  Check out one of my new favorite pics:

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by judy on August 13, 2008 at 12:58 PM

    Love it! The red bikinis made me laugh out loud. BTW…I didn’t know you were a drudgereport checker-outer….

  2. Posted by DavidG on August 13, 2008 at 2:26 PM

    Wow, what a great reminder of addressing the things in life about ourselves that we need to change. Some show on the outside and some on the inside.

  3. This picture made me chuckle! I can hear all the facinated little oohs and ahs! Brought me back to a season when many families at our church in NC adopted orphans from a visiting choir from Afirca when their orphanage burned down, their adjustment to life in the States. Even down to playing soccer with shoes on was new. Oprah even showed up to put her little spin on it last year. But God protected the integrity of the parents and their family even in the face of deceived television producers. God is bigger than Oprah.

    And the people said, “AMEN!”

Leave a Reply

