Summer Camp or Outreach?

Summer time…

Youth church camp.  Daddy debrief upon their return.  Conversation went something like this:

Me: “Tell me about camp?”

Her: “It was awesome – water slides, capture the flag, sneaking out of our cabins…!!!”

Pause: (kids need to be kids – nothing wrong with BIG fun)

Resume

Me: “Tell me about your God time at camp?”

Her: “It was good, worship at night was awesome!”

CONTRAST

Me: To my daughter who just returned from an overseas outreach trip – “Tell me about your mission trip?”

Her: “My life will never be the same.”

Me: “Tell me why.”

Her: “I got to pour out God’s love for a whole week!”

Me: “Did you have fun?”

Her: “Oh yea, we had fun too.”

Do both serve a purpose?  Without a doubt.  But after years of leading both camps and mission trips, and then inspecting the resulting fruit in the lives of the young people who have done both, the answer is clear.

Serving others on a mission trip of love should begin in the 6th grade year and never end.  And if made to choose one over the other?

Reach out…

4 responses to this post.

  1. awesome!!!!

    and i hope kiki brought that lil dimple dude home with her! i need to hear the giggle that goes with that grin!

  2. Posted by Gwen Darrey on August 15, 2008 at 11:02 AM

    Hey Roy,

    Love your blog spot! Your blurb on your facebook got my attention boot camp vs. cruise ship, so I checked out your blog.

    I love what you said about mission trips. Great encouragement. Wonderful picture of MacKenzie and the little one.

    I love your kids and can’t believe how big they all have gotten. Young men and women!

    belonging 2 u b cuz of christ, Gwen

  3. Hi Gwen!

    You are so sweet…thank you for the encouragement. Miss you guys!

    I had the chance to hang out with your son last week during the Parent Night for Impact. And then I watched him do his thing. I love that boy. I still remember teaching him when he was 5 or 6 during Sunday School. God has a special calling on his life Gwen. I can’t wait to see what it is.

    Tell your hubby I said hi, and thanks for stopping my this little journal.

    Blessings,
    roy

  4. Posted by Jeff S. on August 15, 2008 at 11:21 PM

    Thanks for the fantastic insight, Roy. I have been reconsidering my vacation plans for next summer and you may have just helped me make up my mind. I agree with Suz. I would love to hear the giggle that goes with those dimples. Is it any wonder…considering whose holding him.

Leave a Reply

