Why is Algae Growing in the Baptismal Pool?

Read an article today in USA Today about mega-churches.

Suggested that the big boys may be trending down in attendance and giving. While the number of mega-churches has grown from 600 in the year 2000 to more than 1,250 in 2005, recent data indicates a troubling issue.

Why the flat line or decline? I firmly believe it is because of one thing…

The lack of transformation.

Ed Stetzer of Lifeway Research was quoted as saying:

You can create a church that’s big, but is still not transforming people. Without transformation, the Christian message is not advanced.

Mega-churches serve the Kingdom in powerful and positive ways, but one of the weaknesses of these larger churches is the tendency to drift towards a transactional environment – a feel good show and message in exchange for bodies in the seats. “We’ll put on a tight, flawless production (that rivals any off-Broadway show), if you agree to come watch…

Regardless of the congregation size, our churches should exist to transform, not transact.  And we as the body should be models of the transformational power of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Have mega-churches peaked?  Check the Baptismal Pool for algae….

One response to this post.

  1. Roy – I want you to know that I look forward to reading your blog and try to make it a part of my “every day” routine. It really challenges me as a believer and follower and I appreciate the thought you put into it. On another note – I wanted to tell you that the other night I had one of those “wake up remembering it” kind of dreams in which Jaime and I were visiting you and Jeanne in Hawaii of all places. You were taking a one year sabatical to write a book and we had come to visit you. The dream was so vivid that I can even remember Jeanne turning me around in a church type service to point out an older couple who were mentoring you that happened to be there at the same time as we were. It was just so real that I woke up and told Jaime all about it. Not sure it means anything, could have been the pizza the night before, but regardless I wanted to share. Hope you’re doing well. Give Jeanne a big hug from me!

Leave a Reply

