So You Are A Woman Pastor?

Better hope you are not featured on the cover of a prominent Christian periodical, or you will cause a major Christian Book Store – Lifeway – to pull the magazine.

Please say it ain’t so….

Agree or not with women serving as pastors, but pulling the magazine???  Did we not learn anything from the Disney boycott?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeff S. on September 22, 2008 at 8:22 AM

    WOW! Please wake me up. Most of us Christian parents fear the censorship of anything that appears to be “religious” in the public schools. And all of us should fear that same censorship in the public forum. How should we respond when our “Christian” businesses appear to show a little bias? Didn’t they also do the same thing to “The Shack”? They eventually did carry it. What happened? I would be curious to hear Lifeway’s response. Another great thought provoking post, Roy.

  2. Posted by lindsayjean on September 24, 2008 at 2:20 PM

    I’d love to leave a comment but it seems as though there’s a certain bias that says my opinion isn’t really valid.. sooo… so I’ll save my time by not posting 🙂

    interesting… 🙂

  3. Are we upset over this or do we really want to Obey the Lord and whats in His Word and His teachings to us.
    Read in Timothy and Titus and then decide do you want to obey God or your own heart.Is your heart in His will or your own.
    The Bible has not changed only how We interpret it and what we want to do-It’s all about Me not about God and His Son Jesus Christ.

  4. Dave – thanks for stopping by. And thanks for your thoughts. As I stated in the post, for me it’s not the issue of should a woman be a pastor, but the pulling of a well respected periodical by an organization that has a history of over reactive stances.

  5. Posted by lindsayjean on September 24, 2008 at 9:20 PM

    After talking today, Roy, maybe a post is in order… 🙂
    First, as a journalism graduate, let’s first be concerned with censorship issue. As a company, Lifeway is within their right to sell whatever products they want to sell. I wouldn’t expect them to start selling tequila because that goes against what they believe as a company. But to censor an article that you don’t agree with is how most Christians have grown into uneducated adults. Withholding information and skewing what’s provided is not the way to raise an informed generation.

    Second, do we not serve a God that uses all people? We believe God can use men, women, adults, children, recovering alcoholics and lifelong Christians. God is not a respector of persons. He uses the willing with a blatant disregard for our “human labels.” There was a time when people used the bible to defend having slaves… just something to think about.

    And last but certainly not least, God created two genders for a reason. Men and women are meant to be different. As I said today Roy, it is never my intention to compete with a man and show that “anything he can do I can do… maybe better”. God is raising me to be a woman of God… with the mentality and emotions of a woman. To provide a different dynamic to “the man.” To accomplish things with the gifts and talents God has provided to me as a woman.

    Maybe we should be less considered about who can earn what title… and spend some time honoring people who make themselves available to the cause and sensitive to his voice…

    whew.. I feel better 🙂

  6. Lindsay –

    Thanks for your post. Very well written, and thought provoking. Being a female, though I do not feel called to be a pastor, I have been blessed by female pastors periodically and teachers who are female.

    I was raised in a denomination that did not allow female into any leadership role. I even would ask as a small child, why can I not serve like my brothers do in church? I was told by my parents, “because you are a girl.” Now, this was not a pastoral roll that I was seeking as a young girl yet what I was taught is being female is something less then a man.

    I, as well, attempt to seek God’s will in my life with my entire heart and soul. I do not seek a title and find that some of the most impactful service sharing the light of Jesus is actually one that is absent a title but rather one that is in secret – being on the streets with the lost, poor and broken. Taking the light of Jesus into the world, outside of the church walls, and walking where Jesus would have walked.

    I am thankful that I do not feel ‘called’ by God deep in my inner being to be a female pastor. If I did feel this calling, despite the belief of others, I would follow Jesus. I do not feel that the bible is clear on this issue.

    I am familiar with the Timothy and Titus passages, but surprisingly though they speak so clearly to others on these issues as well as others, I do not hear the same spoke to me.

    Would I discourage a friend who is female from being a pastor if she truly felt called by Jesus? I could not. Yet, I would desire that she really pray over the issue and truly seek Jesus with all of her to insure that this is indeed what He is calling her to.

    I do tend to believe in my inner being that a man should be the spiritual head of the family. So, it is easier for me to believe that should be the same in the church family. Is this conditioned based on my upbringing? Or, is this really God’s desire? And, if it is God’s desire, where do you draw the line to what a female can or can not do and what is and is not appropriate? Should she not be allowed to speak or teach in church? There are also passages reflecting this in Scripture.

    I wish I had a clear statement from God in the bible on this matter. As for pulling a magazine and not selling it, as a merchant they do have the right to sell or not sell what they want. I am not familiar with this magazine. The question I would ask is if you have agreed with the magazine in the past, at what point do you not sell it based on one article? There are many things that you can argue over in Christianity. Some things are very clear – such as homosexuality, stealing, killing, etc. Other things, are not so clear though they be clear to others?

    I admire them for taking a stand, but I would be interested in what there stance is based on as well as how far does this stance go? In every disagreement, is the solution to just remove the product? Or, perhaps, should there be communication or even selling the product with the store handing out their opinion of why they do not agree?

    I always think communication is best on these issues.

  7. Posted by Sue Underwood on October 15, 2008 at 6:48 PM

    As a woman Pastor, I can only say, “Take it up with the Father who called me”. I don’t have to answer to anyone but Him. Growing up as a preachers kid, I made a vow to myself that I would never be in the ministry or marry a minister. When my husband asked me if I would marry him, I asked him if he was going to ever be a pastor and his response was, “No”. I said okay, “I’ll marry you”. We’ve been married 37 years and 5 years ago God called me to full time ministry. Trust me, I had to hear the voice of the Lord because I was making great money in private practice and had no desire to be a licensed pastor. My question is this, Why would anyone become a pastor if not for the call of God? It’s no picnic out here & the pay sucks but God is awesome and somehow feels you with joy as He calls you to do his work. It is an honor to serve God at His highest calling and that includes women!!

  8. Posted by Pastor Sandy on October 17, 2008 at 5:23 PM

    I am so glad that I have a relationship with God and not just my religion. It is time to receive the promise of God, “Let there be light” and there was light. I continue to pray for the people of God as Paul did in Ephesian, that the eyes of your understanding may be enlighten. Those that can’t get with The Lord God, move out the way for the kingdom man “created He them, male and female and let them have dominion.”

Leave a Reply

