Forgotten Comma

A comma ( , ) is a punctuation mark. It has the same shape as an apostrophe or single closing quotation mark in many typefaces, but it differs from them in being placed on the baseline of the text. Some typefaces render it as a small line, slightly curved or straight, or as a small filled-in number 9. The comma is used in many contexts and languages, principally for separating things. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, the word comma comes directly from the Greek komma (κόμμα), which means something cut off or a short clause. – thank you Wiki

I forgot mine yesterday – and I offended.

Face Book brings together old friends.  Through 9 degrees of separation, we all seem to have some connection to each other.  Matt to me came through a friend of a friend of a friend.

His message to me (some 20 years after our last contact):

“Hey Roy, it’s been years! How are you…..”

My message back to my long lost friend:

“How are you my friend? …….”

And just like that a reuniting friendship took bad turn.  Matt took my greeting to mean – who are you and how do I know you?  I typed it to convey my sincere interest in the well being of an old acquaintance.

His feelings were hurt.  I was confused.

All becasue I was stingy with the liberal use of punctuation.  Reminds me of my old college English proffesor who told the following corny joke:

What is the difference between a cat and a comma?
One has the paws before the claws and the other has the clause before the pause.

Sorry, Matt.

Leave a Reply

