Tell ‘Em 4 Things…

Re-Imagining…

My role as daddy to my 4 girls.

As I tried to practice one of the points from yesterday – listening to God – REALLY listening, a thought popped into my head.

Origin – Me?  God?

How do I know?

I asked Him.  It was Him. It felt like Him.  It aligned with His Word.  It just felt “right”.

OK God, I’ll do it.

I love being a daddy.  So much so that it crushes me when I run a mental comparison between the ideal dad and me.  My insecurities flare.

(cue Butterfly Kisses – pass the tissues)

Four things.

The question: When my life on this planet is over, what are the 4 things that I want my 4 girls to remember about their dad?

God gave me one-on-one time with each of my princesses so that I could look them in the eyes and tell them again:

1. Your daddy loves you with all of his heart.

2. Your daddy is proud of you – not only for what you do, but most importantly for who you are.

3. Your daddy believes in you. There are no limits to what you can accomplish within God’s will for your life.

4. Your daddy is praying for you to fall a little more in love with Jesus each day of your life.

Four things.

OK God, I did it.  They’ve heard these from me since they were toddlers. But I did it again today.  I sensed in my spirit an “atta boy” from my Daddy, and then this prompting:

Now find a new way to do it again tomorrow…and by the way, those 4 truths? They are for you too my child. – Love, Your Father

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Bailey on October 15, 2008 at 11:13 AM

    I thank God every day for a dad that cares SO much (:

Leave a Reply

