Hooked…

Here’s a question I get from time to time: “What’s up with the name of your site – Hooked On Grace?”

It’s an intentional word play –

1. Hooked – play on my last name (Lord knows that’s easy to do)

2. Grace – because the more I fall in love with Jesus, the more I fall in love with His grace.

3. Grace Family Church??? – My home church.  But nope.  Love my church, I mean LOVE it,  but not hooked on it.

Read about Job this morning – ugh.  If you have an ounce of compassion, this story tears at your heart every time you read it.  You know, if I played God for a day, my daddy heart would have compelled me to jump in and save the day – minutes after Job lost it all.  I would have revived all of his kids he lost and then taken out those bums that caused him such pain.

But I would screw it all up if I did that.

With my “save the day” approach we would never mature under my kind of treatment. As Swindoll said “We’d just enjoy the comfort.”  We’d all go to picnics then on a motorcycle ride and have lots of fun. That’s my style – a peace maker. If everybody handled things like I wanted, all we’d bring to the party is balloons. Nobody would think to bring the food.

So, are has an uncertain fog enveloped you?  Life.  We are all in it together. In the valleys of my life, the Holy Spirit sometimes reminds me of those old Hymns I used to sing from the same wooden pew every Sunday.  This one is playing over and over in my head today:

Thru many dangers, toils and snares,
I have already come;
‘Tis grace hath brought me safe thus far,
And grace will lead me home.

Take courage.  Though the fog appears overwhelming, it’s grace that will lead us home.

I’m hooked….

Leave a Reply

