Daddy Daughter Dance – 2009

n782338307_1395589_7879

4 teen daughters….

7 years of Daddy/Daughter Dances….

Sweet tender memories that will last my lifetime…

Girls are fickle (newsflash from Captain Obvious).

Preteen girls – love to dress up – for real too.  Dad is still kinda cool and a little funny still. I remember the 4 of us dancing to Butterfly Kisses – the two youngest cradled on each hip while the other two stood on my shoes, arms wrapped tightly around each leg.  A looong song, but I remember wishing it would never end.

Young teen girls – it’s all about their friends.  Dad is a little corny.  A little goofy.  Not so cool.  Heard his jokes over and over.  All true….but ouch.

Older teen girls – “Hey dad, will you take me to the daddy daughter dance this year”? What? Me? You want to go with me?  I was a puddle.

So Mackenzie had her nails and hair done, and even shopped for the perfect dress for her date with her dad.  I am so not worthy.  As we got ready to leave, I looked at my little girl.  Memories flashed back to the day I held her as she took her first few breaths, recitals, plays, sports.  All leading up to this very moment – the night that she chose me to be her date.

The last song of the night was Steven Curtis Chapman’s – Cinderella.

I think Mackenzie could sense my emotions – I couldn’t hold them back.  The other 400 dads and daughters disappeared.  For the very moment, it was just me and my princess. I held her tight.  She not only let me, but she held me tight too.

So I will dance with Cinderella
While she is here in my arms
‘Cause I know something the prince never knew
Ooh-oh ooh-oh I will dance with Cinderella
I don’t want to miss even one song
‘Cause all too soon the clock will strike midnight
And she’ll be gone

Please don’t let this song end God…….

9 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for making me tear up… Working on a similar post! It was a night that I’ll never forget!

  2. Posted by David G. on February 18, 2009 at 4:24 PM

    I was blessed to be able to help out some last night. I don’t have a daughter but I wanted to be a part of this awesome evening. I watched from the sideline as so many tears were shed one after another. Some of the young ladies cried too.

  3. Posted by Mom on February 18, 2009 at 5:11 PM

    Talk about YOU being a puddle!!!!!! I am wiping the tears as I type this. Roy, there is something about a Daddy/Daughter relationship that is unexplainable. I am so glad that you can experience it. Cherish the moments as I know that you do. You are such a wonderful Daddy. How very blessed my 4 granddaughters are to have you as the first man in their lives that they have loved. My prayers have been that they will find a husband that will love them as you have and will be the head of their family just like their Daddy has always been. You have done a fabulous job my son. I love you and thank God for you each day. Mom

  4. Posted by Matt on February 19, 2009 at 10:58 PM

    Mr. Roy,

    I must say i want you to know i look up to you very highly as a father figure. I want to one day be as a great a father as you have been to your girls. I love your entire family so much, and am blessed to know you. I was so happy to see you with Mackenzie that night, and i love you so much. You give me a great example of what one day a christian father should look like. Thanks for being here for me, and let me tell you its alot more than you know =] Your an awesome dad, and i love you so much bro! Just know your guidance helps me with being the best *cough* *cough* (boyfrined) i can be. i love your daughter very much and will always respect your wishes =] Thanks for being a mentor/ leader/ father/ friend/ and blessing me. Love you bro!

    Matt

  5. Matt – I love you bro and I thank God that if my princess MUST have a boyfriend, I am so thankful that he is you 😉

  6. David – thank you my friend for giving sacrificially that night so that real ministry could take place. You and your crew continue to show us what love looks like.

  7. Mom – your example of compassionate love is a model for us all to follow. I love you with all of my heart!

  8. Wow – good stuff Roy. What an awesome night this must have been. Looking forward to a similar dance this spring with my own daughter!

  9. What a great picture and thanks for sharing this with us! Roy – be sure to read my testimony “How Jesus Saved Me.”

Leave a Reply

