Praying for “Our Daily Bread”

ht_img_25361Over 2 toasted slices of whole wheat bread, a little peanut butter, and a little more honey…..

I’m thinking about “our daily bread”.

The Lord’s Prayer.

Seems I default to this when I don’t know what or how to pray.

I was reminded of this recently as I struggled through my love/hate relationship with fasting.  Issue: when I don’t eat, I have a hard time focusing to pray (even WITH food I have a hard time focusing when I pray).  Our souls are fashioned for Heaven, but until that day I seem to be always HUNGRY!

I think my issue is rooted in this this powerful 5 letter word – TRUST.

Often I don’t ask because I don’t trust.  As Michael Crosby wrote in his book “The Prayer That Jesus Taught Us, “To ask with such confidence (give us this day our daily bread) implies a relationship of trust.  If we have problems trusting God, it’s not likely we’ll be able to pray this petition from our heart. It’s not likely either that we will have much of a personal relationship with our God.”

God provides – we give – God provides – we give – God provides…….that’s the way things work in God’s economy.

So just how hungry can I be God?  The answer is found here – “Give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, who is the Lord? Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonor the name of my God.” – Proverbs 30:8b-9

As N.T. Wright once wrote, “Give us this day our daily bread means – let the party continue.”

Rock on God……..

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Andrew Fulford on March 6, 2009 at 9:37 PM

    This was encouraging.

  2. Fasting has to be a Holy Spirit inspired thing – that is what I have learned. The Holy Spirit does the work. I wake in the morning and realize the Holy Spirit is going to be calling me to a fast that day. I cannot do it unless the Spirit is doing it through me. It’s a weird, spiritual thing………….

Leave a Reply

