It’s No Sin to Hurt

David_Ford_black_and_white

I am hurting.

Perhaps you are too.  I know others around us are…

And the sad part is sometimes, in the midst of our greatest pain, those within our circles pull away.  Oh, it’s not always intentional, though I believe mostly it is.

We all go through seasons of life where God chooses to allow pain to draw us closer to Him. And emotional pain deserves compassion, not condemnation.  It’s no sin to hurt. But we as “Christians” love to shoot our wounded.

Christ followers, as God intended, provides supportive hands, wise minds, and loving hearts to help those who are hurting and in need. The driving force and the solid foundation is Jesus Christ, who loves you and me dearly and without conditions. Even if some people have pulled away from you, help is still available.

Today lets choose to keep our focus on Christ instead of on our problems, or else we will sink just as surely as Peter sank when he walked on the water to Jesus.

You remember the story in the Bible, Peter was on a boat one ugly stormy night, and he looked up and saw Jesus walking on the raging sea. Jesus asked Peter to come to Him. At first Peter jumped up with joyful assurance and started across the water to Jesus. Then he became afraid, focusing on his inadequacies instead of on Christ’s sufficiency.  When he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, ‘Lord, save me!’  “Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. ‘You of little faith,’ he said, ‘why did you doubt?’ And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down” (Matthew 14:30-32).

Lord, give me the courage to seek help from those that love you, and to keep my focus on You and not me. Grant me the faith to persevere.

Find someone who loves Jesus, and they will love you too.

**** just found one, thanks my friend.

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeff Stubbe on November 8, 2009 at 1:30 PM

    Hello back at ya!!! I’ve missed you (and your posts) more than you’ll know.

  2. Posted by Amy on November 8, 2009 at 7:25 PM

    So glad you’re blogging again after some time away 🙂
    May we all strive to focus on Christ and not on our own problems. Thanks for that reminder.

  3. thanks Amy. the reminder needs to be minute by minute for me….

  4. thanks buddy. your encouragement is such a blessing.

  5. Love that last sentence, used it for my FB status! You are quoted on FB! Glad you’re back to blogging. I take what seems like long recesses from writing and it is usually pain, frustration that sends me back. Bet God would like it if it didn’t take that much to make me write…could be a lesson in this.

  6. ha….a lesson that I hope we all learn…and soon!

  7. Posted by mattmaldo on November 12, 2009 at 12:54 AM

    Hey man was talking to some of my new believer friends this past couple days and i quote “It’s no sin to hurt. But we as “Christians” love to shoot our wounded.” was right on with our conversation. Judgement, ridicule, and condemnation are common we all including myself must find that area of helping our brothers up when they fall.

    Ecclesiastes 4:10
    If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!

    We all need friends!

Leave a Reply

