Button-Down & Boxers…

The cell phone rang her familiar ring tone – the piano riff from Risky Business.  images

Weird ring tone for MY MOM, I know, but it was the first R rated movie that my mom knew (and was not happy about) her teenage boy watched.  It’s now her ring tone, and makes me smile a devious grin every time she calls.

Yesterday’s call came at the very summit of my most emotional need.

How did she know?

I think it was a mother’s intuition prompted by that still small voice of the Holy Spirit.  Mom’s words soothed her boy’s hurting heart.  It was a beautiful picture of our unconditional loving God – Her sacrificial love to her son despite her own heart being broken and physical body past the point of exhaustion as she cares for her cancer ridden brother.

In the midst of her phone call, the Holy Spirit spoke into my soul something like this:

“As much as your mom loves you, your Abba Father loves you even more”!

Brennan Manning said it best when he wrote “If you took the love of all the best mothers and fathers who have lived in the course of human history, all their goodness, kindness, patience, fidelity, wisdom, tenderness, strength, and love and united all those qualities in a single person, that person’s love would only be a faint shadow of the furious love and mercy in the heart of God the Father.”

This love is so tangible in Romans 8:15:

For you did not receive a spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you received a spirit of adoption, through which we cry, ABBA, FATHER!”

God is love.

(Wanted to close with some witty relevant quote from Risky Business, but after searching the Internet Movie Data Base for a line or two, wow…sorry mom, you were right, again).

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on November 11, 2009 at 5:38 PM

    I love you sooooo much….Risky Business, huh? Hummmmm…..how in the world did you let that one slip out???? How old were you????? 10??? I always wanted to shelter you….forever! It was the hardest thing to let you go…Can I have you back???? If only I could hold you my son and make the hurt go away.

  2. Posted by Esther on November 14, 2009 at 7:36 PM

    Thank you Roy. As a mom, I felt every word of your post. As a mom I learn more and more about the depth of Gods love through my own love. There is no limit to how much love God will give his child, nor is there a limit to how much he will do. Sometimes we want to pick them up and save them from themselves, other times we know that their greatest lesson will be in learning how to pick themselves up. That is the toughest lesson of all, for both parent and child but in the end, we know they will be stronger. I stay close enough to hear their call for help as I know that God does too. Always there … just a whisper away.

    Thanks for your post. I’m glad you are back! I’ve missed you.

  3. Thanks Esther. There is perhaps nothing as close to the love of our Father as the love of our moms.

Leave a Reply

