Abrazo

Main Entry:      abrazo
Part of Speech:      n
Definition:      a hug or embrace upon greeting or parting, esp. in Spain and Latin America
Example:      The abrazo given as a greeting or sign of affection devoid of sexual overtures.
Etymology:      Spanish term

We’re never too old to be held.

What is it, embedded within the embrace of someone who loves us, that transfers healing?

I believe it is a tangible act that has the possibility of mirroring the all consuming love of our Heavenly Father.  It would be so easy to lead this post down a cozy, warm fuzzy, let’s all hug, path.  But it’s so much more.

In Thomas Brodie’s commentary on the Gospel of John, he calls it the abiding restful union.

Throughout the gospel of John, Jesus speaks of His oneness with His Father AND His oneness with you and me.  Jesus tells us, “Make your home in me just as I do in you (15:4). I can close my eyes and picture a reclining Jesus with my head buried in His chest…and he holding me with pure love.

The word picture is union.  Manning calls union a word pregnant with a reality that surpasses understanding, the only reality worth yearning for with love and patience, the only reality before which we should stay quiet.

Abide.

Rest.

Peace.

“Cease striving and know that I am God.” – Ps. 46:10

After reading Brodie and Manning I too have decided that if I had my life to live over again, “I would not only climb more mountains, swim more rivers, and watch more sunsets; I wouldn’t only jettison my hot water bottle, raincoat, umbrella, parachute, and raft; I would not only go barefoot earlier in the spring and stay out later in the fall; but I would devote not one more minute to monitoring my spiritual growth.  No, not one.

What will I do then?  Simple.  I will just live in His smile, hang on His every word, and love…and hug.

Leave a Reply

