The Disease to Please

On our way to maturity, we all stumble.

And in this stumble, revelation often occurs.

We climb the wrong ladders leaned against the wrong walls. We search for happiness in the wrong places, often in a desperate attempt to people please.  “The disease to please,” as psychologist Harriet Braiker likes to call it, is a form of addiction. Just as a drug addict seeks drugs, a people pleaser seeks approval.  The world consists of a combination of People Pleasers and people who are never pleased with anything.

Is there hope for this addiction?

The real question is not can we heal? The question is will we let the healing power of the risen Jesus flow though us?

I choose today to stumble out of bed reborn, recreated, renewed, and on my path of healing.  His loving touch of affirmation is enough.  I need nothing more….nothing less.

We are significant because:

John 15:5  –  I am a branch of Jesus Christ, the true vine, and a channel of His life.
John 15:16 –   I have been chosen and appointed to bear fruit.
1 Corinthians 3:16  –  I am God’s temple.
2 Corinthians 5:17-21  –  I am a minister of reconciliation for God.
Ephesians 2:6  –  I am seated with Jesus Christ in the heavenly realm.
Ephesians 2:10  –  I am God’s workmanship.
Ephesians 3:12  –  I may approach God with freedom and confidence.
Philippians 4:13  –  I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.

Father, I need your help this morning.  My heart’s desire is to please.  Will you help me redirect my efforts? My desire is to please only one….you.

Leave a Reply

