Truth in Love – part 1 of 2

Speaking the truth in love – an art mastered by few and massacred by many.  Lord, help me learn…

“Roy, what does it mean to speak the truth in love?”  Filtering his question, I remained silent hoping it to be rhetorical.  He didn’t budge.  In an increasingly awkward silence he continued his piercing stare towards me.  I looked away and then back at him again.  He expected an answer. I looked away again – hoping to buy more time.  I had nothing on my own… so I kicked into a mad search through my Sunday school memory bank of answers. More silence.

Knowing he had just tapped into a deep weakness of mine, and after an eternity of a holy hush, he mercifully broke the silence.

After 6 months of counseling he readied a diagnosis – “Roy, you are a people pleaser, and people pleasers find it nearly impossible to speak the truth in love.”  People pleasers are actually closet control freaks.  We are more concerned in keeping everyone happy by controlling an environment than we are the truth.

“Can you teach me how to speak the truth in love?”.  He answered, yes.  It’s actually very simple.

(Late for work, will finish this tomorrow)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on December 23, 2009 at 2:16 PM

    Can’t believce you left me hanging!!! Love you, Mom

  2. Posted by Jeff Stubbe on December 23, 2009 at 11:05 PM

    Man, It’s good to be reading you again. Intresting meeting you had there. Who was the teacher and who was the student? Me thinks journey of enlightenment you both walk. You have to read that last line with your best Yoda voice. Miss ya bro (teacher)!

Leave a Reply

