The Gift of Your Need

I am not accustomed to being needy.

I don’t like it…makes me feel weird…uncomfortable.

So much so that I would rather ignore my own internal warnings than admit my need – a recipe for personal disaster, trust me.

My need is someone else’s blessing of love, purpose, and obedience.

Love God, love others…right?

Love others, especially when they need love the most…in their greatest time of need.

By me withholding my need, others can not love me.  Shame on me.

Struggling to admit your need?  Check your pride – it was my biggest obstacle.

I am still working through my season of need.  God has me here for a reason, probably lots of reasons. I sometimes feel like The Coach has pulled me from the game and has me sitting on the bench next to Him, and I gotta be ok with that.  Sure, I wonder if He will ever put me back in the game.  I get antsy sitting.  But our seasons of need are just that, seasons.

But then last night I got a text – “I sure could use a friend right now, would you come find me?”

He had a need.  He was hurting. I went. I found him. We hung out for hours.

Am I back in the game? Nooo.  This morning I sense The Coach calling me back to the bench, to the seat right next to Him.  But I treasured that brief “playing time” last night.

And my friend has no idea what a gift his need was to me.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Eric Meyer on January 13, 2010 at 9:57 AM

    Roy,
    This was really good. Thank you.

  2. Needed that today, bro. Thanks for that, especially since I’m heading into a season where I know He has a new adventure waiting for me…whatever that might be!

  3. Posted by Trisha on January 13, 2010 at 8:28 PM

    Roy…this is awesome….thank you so much for sharing your heart and God’s love….

  4. […] Roy writes about the gift of your need. […]

Leave a Reply

