Farmer List

When I grow up I want to be a farmer!

Thats what I used to think, sexy, I know. Thank you Chris Brogan for your Farmer post and Fred for your metaphor – both inspired me…

I have just awakened to the truth that I am a farmer.  Took a walk outside to survey my garden, and after years of neglect things were a mess.  And I was reaping the intensifying consequences of my passivity.

Garden = all that I am responsible for and to.

Chris wrote “Farmers are fairly no-nonsense types. They wake up, get breakfast, and do their chores. They live by the season, worry about the yield, and think in reasonably conservative terms about what’s going to work for them.

Your Farmer List

By “farmer list,” let’s call this the chores you’ve gotta do every day. They’ll be different for everyone, but let’s lay out some starters to get you thinking. Then, the real opportunity will be for you to lay out your own farmer list, inspired by what this one makes you think.”

Here is my Farmer’s List:

Daily Chores

  • Spend intentional time in the Word of God.  It is alive.
  • Pray – 20% talking to God, 80% listening.
  • Get my blog post up. Make it spiritually helpful, worthy of comments, and unique.
  • Comment back to people who’ve commented on my blog/tweets.
  • Intentionally map out today’s touch points in the lives of those closest to me. I know how they receive and need to be loved.  It’s up to me to sow…daily!
  • Send 2 encouraging texts to those God gives me for today.
  • Connect with five people not in my vertical.
  • Reconnect with people who matter. Drop an email or call. Don’t ask for anything.
  • Look at the map of where I think things are going for my business. Anything change?
  • Think about what seeds I might plant for future projects.
  • Share at the farmer’s market my best yields.

It’s work.  Hard work. But not optional…

What goes on YOUR farmer’s list?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Winn Petrescue on January 22, 2010 at 2:57 PM

    Extremely spiritually clever and captivatingly plus comprehensively written! Just the shot in the arm to boost me to the end of a busy day and keep my eyes on what matters. Thanks a million.

    John 15:8 says : “By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit; so you will be My disciples.

    Praise God for His wonderful family and the encouragement we can all give each other when we are walking close to Him.
    Winn

Leave a Reply

