Bu-Bye Followup

Facebook firestorm!

Had no idea yesterday’s post would create the stir that it did…more comments and readers to this little blog than ever. It even made it’s way to San Fran where my buddy Andy, author and blogger extraordinaire, had this to say on his always insightful site.

And I had no idea how hard it would be to actually deactivate my FB account this morning! Ugh…

But I did.  Had to.  I know in my heart it is what I am supposed to do.  My personal decision created strong reactions from you – both negative and positive, and that’s a good thing.  I love the dialogue!  Anytime we evaluate and articulate what is important to us, we better understand who we are and what Christ has called us to do.

Please hear my heart on this – I never ever intended to condemn.  Please forgive me if I offended you. I wrote with passion and conviction what the Holy Spirit revealed to me, and me alone.  I will tell you that for every comment, text, email, and phone call I received telling me why FB is great, I had twice as many “you have no idea the issues FB is causing in my relationship.”

So my prayer for you and me this morning is this:
1. Guard your heart. We are in a war.  Slam shut every door that may give the evil one access.
2. Evaluate your time.  Balance is so hard to achieve. You have a specific Kingdom assignment with so precious little time to get it done. Your King and the rest of us are counting on you.
3. Be Obedient. Ask the Holy Spirit, is this what you want me spending my time doing?  If so, GREAT! If not, deactivate.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laurie on January 27, 2010 at 6:22 PM

    Totally with you!!! I deactivated my account 10 days ago. When it became more important to check my facebook rather than spend time with God first thing in the morning…….I knew I had an issue. Couldn’t believe the phone calls and emails trying to understand my reasoning. Too funny….

  2. Way to go Roy! And that’s for the link love, too…

Leave a Reply

