Virtue Du Jour

(Thank you once again Fred.  You continue to speak life and truth into my thirsty soul.)

Welcome to our cafe…

Pull up a chair.

May I share today’s special with you? I think you may love it.  Perhaps you are familiar with it.  I wasn’t before this morning, but after just a taste, mmmm, wow.  I want more….lots more!

Our chef calls it – Candor.

I’ll try to explain, remember, it’s new to me too.  Candor is a virtue, a Latin word meaning whiteness, pure, unreserved, honest, or sincere expression without any fear of pressure.

Sound refreshing?….yeah, me too…I thought the same thing.

Someone who speaks with candor doesn’t mince her words. If you are characterized as a person of candor, I admire you.  I want to be more like you.  It is so tedious going through the mental exercise of dissecting every spoken or written word.  I yearn to communicate with candor.

But candor is not the entrée, it’s an accoutrement (fancy French word meaning accessory). Candor only comes alive when it serves LOVE.

As with all virtues, becoming a student of candor is an art…a talent…risky?  Sure, but if we truly want to speak the truth in love, we must learn to speak with candor.

I snuck a peek at The Chef’s Candor recipe.  Here’s what I saw:

  • a dash of Timing
  • a pinch of Discernment
  • a handful of Compassion
  • and 7 cups of LOVE

Would you like a taste?  Soooo sweet…..

Leave a Reply

