Confession – I Don’t Hunger for God…

I don’t.

How can I when I overstuff myself with the things of this world?  If I were brutally honest with myself, I would see that I overindulge in the temporal and nibble on the things of God.

Is it any wonder I’m never satisfied?

If you dont feel strong desires for the manifeistation of the glory of God, it’s because you have nibbled for so long at the table of the world, your soul is stuffed with small things and there is no room for the great. God did not create you for this. There is an appetite for God and it can be awakened. I invite you to turn from the dulling effects of food and the dangers of idolatry and to say with some simple fast, THIS much oh God  I want you. – John Piper

Take a trip with me – no, its not the beach.  Well, its kinda like the beach, but no water.  We’re going to the  Mojave Desert.  Don’t pack a thing.  Just us.  For two full days we’re sitting in the dead center of the desert.  No shade, not even a blanket to sit on – go ahead, just flop down on the sand.  Lean back on your hands.  Get comfy – we’re going to be here a while.  Feel the heat?  Wow, bright.  No, I didn’t bring any water either.  Remember, just us, nothing else….nothing else but us and God.  Talk to Him, not me.  You’re mad at me anyway for getting you into this oven of a nightmare.  24 hours later, nothing has changed,  well, other than our cracking chapped lips, incredibly parched mouths, and an overwhelming hunger.  Sun’s at high noon.  Not a cloud in the sky.  Still just us… and God, and a paralyzing thirst.

Would you trade this God time for a gallon of water right now?  Ice cold water?  I’m afraid I would…I would trade God for my need.  Ouch.  God forgive me.

I don’t have a longing for God because I have filled up on so many other things.  My soul craves something – there is an emptiness.  But this emptiness can be filled with other stuff. If I would just deny my worldly nibbles, I would find that there is this hunger for God than can be awakened. My appetite for God could actually grow.

It’s time for a major shift.  When I read the following chapter, something within my soul awakened.  Thats it!  Thats whats missing from my faith journey.

Psalm 63

1 – God—you’re my God! I can’t get enough of you!
I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God,
traveling across dry and weary deserts.
2-4 So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open,
drinking in your strength and glory.
In your generous love I am really living at last!
My lips brim praises like fountains.
I bless you every time I take a breath;
My arms wave like banners of praise to you.

Somehow I must get to the point in my life were I’d rather have God in the desert than a gallon of cool water. How can I be in the dessert for 2 days and long for God more than water?

For me, it’s a 2 step process:

1 – Eliminate the things of this world that I am feasting on, things that feed my selfish desires, things that I have made an idol.  I just asked the Holy Spirit and He was faithful to show me 5 immediate things.  Ask Him yourself.

The removal of these idols will create a new hunger.

2- Satisfy this new hunger with the things of God – His word, prayer, fasting, ministering His love, being obedient to His calling in our lives.

More of Him….less of me….equals an eternal satisfaction.

Chapstick?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kim on February 24, 2010 at 4:20 PM

    All I can say is WOW…. thank you for taking the time to write this and challenge me to answer the question. I am afraid I am not very proud of the answer i came up with either.

  2. thanks Kim. i guess the real beauty is that our answer can change….once we do.

Leave a comment